Rice

maxresdefault

Recently, I read an essay called “Rice” by Jhumpa Lahiri. The style the essay was written in a style that I had never seen before. Rather than describing his father, she used stories of his unique pulao to indirectly describe him. I thought this was interesting. Before I took this class, I had always written with a structure. Teachers have always told me exactly how they want the essay to be written. They’d tell me what structure, how many paragraphs, and other details that they wanted. I must admit when I was told to write an essay in a similar style as “Rice”, I was stumped. I didn’t know how to be creative with a structure. However when I got into the flow of the essay, it was much more fun because I was allowed to be creative.

Leave a Reply

