Notes on the Upper Muddle

maxresdefault

Recently, in my AP Language class, we read an article titled the “Notes on the Upper Muddle” by Lucinda Rosenfeld. She explains that students from similar social classes tend to become friends. The concept itself I understand, but I don’t understand how she thinks the process works. Rosenfeld tells us that her young kindergartner daughter became friends with another child with parents of a similar background. She uses this as an example to support her claim. However, children of that age don’t usually consider social class when making friends. I’m not even sure a five year old would even know what a social class is. Also, in my experience, high school students don’t research their peer’s background before deciding to be friends with them. Therefore, the question stands: how do students of the same social class find each other and become friends? Do they have an innate radar? Is it simply because they relate batter? What is the answer? I don’t think that there will ever be an answer because this theory is not always true. For example, I am an outlier because I have friends who are more and less fortunate than me. This makes a good amount of my friends outliers as well.

 

 

Leave a Reply

