Cousins

15644971_1239230022824372_1736446889_n-1

I am an only child. There are times that I am extremely aware of that. However, most of the time, I feel like I have nearly 12 siblings. How could that be? Well, it’s because I have 12 cousins who are constantly around me and showing me what it is like to be surrounded by siblings. I’d probably never say it to their faces, but I am extremely grateful for each one of my cousins. They have shaped me as a person and have helped me through the hardest times of my life. They treated me like their own siblings and, when we were young, called me their sister. I grateful for the times when we were young and we made up games and sat around talking about what we wanted to be. I am also grateful for the countless sleepover and hangouts we all had. I was always hanging out with at least one of my cousins and that made it difficult to feel lonely. Also, I am grateful that they never allowed me to miss out on experiences. As a young girl, I never missed out on what it was like to have an over protective brother or sister because I had 12 overprotective cousins. I will always remember what my oldest cousin said to me when this girl in my class was being mean to me: “Tell her you have a cousin with a black belt and nothing to lose.”  I love every single one of my cousins. I find delight in the fact that I am an only child yet I have 12 siblings.

Leave a Reply

