lost friendship

073.JPG

In my lifetime, I have lost more friends than I would like to have. Some friends were lost because of distance distance, others were caused by conflict, and one was even caused by death. There are so many reasons that I have lost friends. However, I noticed that I never get over losing a friend. Yes, the sadness does decrease and there are times that I don’t even think of them. However, when I do think of those lost friendships, I get sad because I still care about the people despite whatever happened between us. My question is why. Why do people get sad over friendships that have ended? Don’t get me wrong, I understand why I get upset about friendships that end for no good reason. However, what about the friendships that end because the people in them wronged each other. What about those? Ending those friendship benefited me, but I am still upset that they ended. I have come up with a possible answer, but I’m still not sure. I think that I get upset because I still hold on to all the good memories that I have had with that person. I have been lucky enough to have never had a friendship where the good time outweighed the bad. Therefore, those good memories stick with me and make me sad that there will be no more good memories with that person.

Leave a Reply

