Past vs. Present

On Saturday, my friend and I went to the park that I spend a majority of my childhood in. It had been a while since I had played in the playground of this park. While I was messing around and taking pictures in this park, I thought about how much I had changed since the first time I had been to this park. I remember how I used to lay on the seat of the swing because I was too short to actually sit on it myself. Now, I just sit on the seat of the swing because of my current height. I remember how I would run away screaming my head off when any dog would approach me, which, in hindsight, wasn’t the best idea because that would just make the dog want to chase me more. Now, I run towards the dog, hoping that its owner will let me touch it. A lot of things have changed since my first time at this part. However, I noticed one thing that will never change: the childish manner that comes out the most when I am at this park. I think that this park is the source of my childishness. I was an only child, which meant that I needed to be creative in order to fun. With its lava sand, ship swings, and caves slides,  this park had all the tools I needed to develop the creativity I required to have an exciting childhood. When I come to this park, I still see everything I did when I was young. No matter how much I change or grow I will always be that a pirate princess at this park.

Leave a Reply

